CM Allen Parkway and East Hopkins
400 E. Hopkins Street
San Marcos, TX 78666
One of the most scenic, historic and popular parks in San Marcos, Juan Veramendi Plaza is known for its iconic gazebo, the Charles S. Cock House Museum, the Merriman Cabin, the Dr. Gwen K. Smith Fountain, and the tree-lined pathway to the Riverwalk.
What's Near Here?
Downtown|The historic Merriman Cabin was built in 1846 by Dr. Eli T. Merriman (1815-1867), a Yale graduate and 1838 Texas settler.
Downtown|Charles S. Cock House, erected in 1867, is a modest, vernacular Greek Revival structure and the oldest remaining residential building in San Marcos.
Located on the banks of the San Marcos river. The park is 5.1 acres and the amenities include Hike/Bike Trails, Benches, Wooden Deck, Large Stage (available for special events), Trash Cans and The Fish Hatchery Building (available for rental), for information on fees and availability contact 512-393-8400.