San Marcos Like a Local

Tour San Marcos Present Rogers Family Tourism Awards

May 23, 2018

Rogers Family Tourism Award Winners: Lions Club Tube Rental and Dane Adamson

Left to Right: Debbie Smith, Shirley Rogers, Dane Adamson, Rebecca Ybarra-Ramirez 

Each year the SMCVB recognizes two individuals or organizations who epitomize the creative spirit and vision that tourism pioneers A.B. Rogers and son, Paul, exhibited when they first began to promote San Marcos, Texas as a tourist destination with Aquarena Springs. 

The Rogers Family Tourism Award was presented to Dane Adamson. Adamson, along with brothers Luke and Spencer, started three small businesses in San Marcos since moving here eight years ago: Adamson Brothers Design, PaddleSMTX and Hooga Rides. PaddleSMTX offers guided stand up paddle tours (SUP) and guided Glow SUP tours, the first nighttime glow SUP tour offered in the state of Texas. Adamson’s most recent business venture is Hooga Rides, San Marcos’ first and only brewery tour which features the ever-growing craft beer scene in San Marcos.

Rogers Family Tourism Award Winner: Dane Adamson

Left to Right: Leslie Ables, Luke Adamson, Spencer Adamson, Dane Adamson, James Adamson, Shandee Lynn, Trenton Kowalczuk and Jeanie Adamson.

The Rogers Family Tourism Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Lions Club Tube Rental. What started in the 1970’s with a cattle truck and recycled automobile tubes has turned into a wildly successful operation that welcomes more than 1,700 tubers on a hot summer day. Through the decades, the bright yellow Lions Club tubes and yellow mesh trash bags have become a staple in the San Marcos River during the summer season. The proceeds from the tube rental provide funding and service to hundreds of local non-profits.

Both Adamson and Lions Club Tube Rental are active participants in bettering the San Marcos community and promoting San Marcos as a tourist destination with their unique and iconic utilization of the San Marcos River.

Rogers Family Lifetime Achievement Award Winners: Lions Club Tube Rental

Left to Right: Mark Jalufka, Rebecca Ybarra-Ramirez, Brian Olson, Sara Lee Underwood, Mitch Hoffman, Julie Hoffman, Debbie Smith, Don Arledge, Clancy Hardin, Samantha Armbruster and Rowe Ray.


Photo Credit: Steve Anderson